Now that your client has purchased their membership, it is now available to be redeemed for any upcoming sessions.
- Redeeming a Membership
- No Shows and Memberships
- Reviewing a Patient’s Membership
- Membership Expiry
- Refunding a Membership
When booking a new appointment for the patient, if the treatment type selected falls under the eligible items for the membership they have purchased, a new Membership section will appear.
💡Note: More often than not, a patient with a membership will likely want to redeem their membership if an eligible session has been selected. For that reason, Jane will try her best to be helpful and pre-select the membership for you during the booking flow.
If you’ve selected the membership in error, simply click the blue ‘x’ and the selection will become available once again.
📍Note: A membership can only be removed from an appointment if it has not yet been arrived.
Once a membership is applied and the appointment is arrived, the total billed to the patient will match the value that has been set under Patient Pays for this treatment or class type under the Membership Settings.
Most often, clinics do not want to charge the patient anything additional per appointment, since the cost of the session had been covered by the upfront fee. In this case, the Patient Pays field would have been set to $0.00, and no further action is required since the appointment is now considered paid.
However, if a patient is to be charged a non-zero amount per appointment in addition to any upfront fee that was collected, the patient total will be adjusted to reflect this amount. In these cases, one would have to proceed with collecting any additional payment from the patient using the standard payment checkout procedure.
What happens if an appointment was booked using a membership, but the patient doesn’t show up? Jane will present you with the option to choose whether you would like to either:
- Option 1: Cover the no show by redeeming a membership use for this session; or,
- Option 2: Opt not to redeem a membership use for this session, and choose one of the clinic’s existing No Show Fees to invoice for this appointment instead
In the case of:
Option 1, redeeming a membership usage for a No Show would behave exactly the same way as if the appointment was arrived — the amount that the patient is billed will match whatever the Patient Pays amount has been set to in the Membership settings.
With Option 2, the membership will not be used and instead, Jane will charge one of the standard clinic no-show fees instead.
If you’ve made a mistake with your selection, you can always undo the no-show by clicking on the button a second time, then redoing the process.
If you want to review the status of a patient’s membership, you’ll be able to do so by visiting the Patient’s Profile > Billing > Packages & Memberships area. You will be able to review the date the membership was purchased, how many uses are remaining, and when it will expire.
If you click on the View button, a detailed breakdown of the membership will be available to review, including the specific invoices that the membership has been redeemed towards.
There are also two reports, the Package & Memberships Sales and Usage Reports that come in handy if you are interested in this type of information across all memberships that have been sold and redeemed across the entire clinic.
If a membership has expired, it can no longer be redeemed towards an appointment, even if there are available sessions remaining.
It’s also worth mentioning that the billing cycle start date cannot be changed after a Membership has been added to a client’s account. This selection is only available at the time of selling the membership.
You might run into a situation where a patient does not redeem all of the available uses of a membership, and you would like to offer a refund of the remaining sessions. There are two places to initiate a Membership refund:
Option 1: Patient Profile > Billing > Purchases, click on the drop-down arrow next to the invoice and select Refund Billing Cycle.
Option 2: Patient Profile > Billing > Packages & Membership, click View next to the relevant membership to bring up the membership page, then click on the arrow to the right of View Purchase to select Refund Cycle.
Regardless of where you instigate the refund, you will be presented with a pop-up asking to confirm whether you wish to refund this membership.
Due to variations in refund regulations of membership deals across locales and disciplines, the amount that you would like to return to the patient is fairly flexible. Jane will provide a suggested amount which is calculated by taking the original membership price and dividing it by the number of uses to get a per-use value. She will then multiply this amount by the number of remaining sessions to offer a suggested refund amount, although you can override this value to any amount between $0 and the total amount originally collected.
Wait— you’re not quite done yet! Once the refund has been initiated, the specified amount will become unapplied and available as credit so that it can be properly refunded to the desired payment method of your choosing. This can be done by viewing the original Payment itself. Check out our guide on Refunding a Patient Payment for a quick refresher on how to finalize this second half of the refund.
📍 Note: A friendly reminder that refunding the membership will automatically invalidate the membership, meaning the membership will no longer be valid for use.
If you have any questions about working with memberships, don’t hesitate to send us an email to email@example.com and we would be happy to guide you in the right direction.